NLL: Saskatchewan Rush raise a banner, then sink NLL expansion San Diego Seals for win in Rush home-opener

The Saskatchewan Rush paid tribute to their 2018 National Lacrosse League championship with a banner-raising and then pulled off a convincing victory in their home-opener Saturday.

The Rush defeated the NLL expansion San Diego Seals 16-12 before a crowd of 13,713 fans at SaskTel Centre.

Ben McIntosh led the Rush scoring attack, scoring five goals and registering four assists. Two of his goals were 25 seconds apart in the opening quarter. It was the second straight game that McIntosh tallied at least a hat-trick for the Rush.

Jeff Shattler, who was the playoff MVP in last year’s NLL championship run, netted four goals and one assist.

Mark Matthews added two goals and three helpers for Saskatchewan, which led 6-5 after the first quarter and 10-8 at half-time. Both times, the Rush scored in the dying seconds.

Jordy Jones-Smith, Ryan Keenan, Marty Dinsdale, Curtis Knight and Connor Robinson also scored for the Rush, which moves to 1-and-1 for the new season.

The NLL expansion Seals featured five former Rush players in their line-up, including Adrian Sorichetti, Dan Dawson, Tyler Carlson, Tor Reinholdt and Johnny Pearson.

Austin Staats paced San Diego with four goals and two assists. Turner Evans tallied a pair of the Seals, who slipped to 1-2 for the season.

Former Rush players Sorichetti and Dawson were among the other Seal scorers Saturday.



Note from WSOE.Org : This content has been auto-generated from a syndicated feed.